Three Florida Gators named All-SEC

Three Florida Gators were named to the Coaches All-SEC teams on Tuesday afternoon led by defensive end Jachai Polite on the first team. Polite was also named to the Associated Press First team on Monday.

Offensive lineman Martez Ivey and cornerback C.J. Henderson were both named to the second team.

Polite led the SEC with five forced fumbles. He led the Gators with 16 tackles for a loss and 11 sacks. He totaled 43 tackles in his junior season, four pass breakups and three quarterback hurries. Polite’s five forced fumbles put him in good company in Florida football history. Only seven players before him had a season with five forced fumbles. Polite’s 11 sacks are just two away from tying Alex Brown’s season record of 13.

Ivey, like Polite, was named to both the AP ad Coaches second team. He was the anchor on the left side of Florida’s offensive line, which paved the way for 5.17 yards per rush number in 2018. Ivey came back for his senior season.

Henderson was named to the Coaches’ team a day after not being named to the AP’s team. Henderson had a great sophomore season with 30 tackles and 3.5 for a loss. Henderson had two interceptions, seven pass breakups, two forced fumbles and two quarterback hurries. After Marco Wilson went down with an ACL injury in week two against Kentucky Henderson shouldered the load in the secondary, shutting down half of the field.

2018 All-SEC Coaches’ Team


TE Jace Sternberger, Texas A&M
OL Jonah Williams, Alabama
OL Andrew Thomas, Georgia
OL Greg Little, Ole Miss
OL Bunchy Stallings, Kentucky
C Lamont Gaillard, Georgia
WR A.J. Brown, Ole Miss
WR Jerry Jeudy, Alabama
QB Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama
RB Benny Snell, Kentucky
RB Trayveon Williams, Texas A&M
AP Deebo Samuel, South Carolina

DL Quinnen Williams, Alabama
DL Jeffery Simmons, Mississippi State
DL Jachai Polite, Florida
DL Montez Sweat, Mississippi State
LB Josh Allen, Kentucky
LB Devin White, LSU
LB Deshaun Davis, Auburn
DB Deandre Baker, Georgia
DB Grant Delpit, LSU
DB Greedy Williams, LSU
DB Deionte Thompson, Alabama

PK Cole Tracy, LSU
P Braden Mann, Texas A&M
RS Deebo Samuel, South Carolina


TE Irv Smith Jr., Alabama
OL Martez Ivey, Florida
OL Alex Leatherwood, Alabama
OL Deion Calhoun, Mississippi State
OL Zack Bailey, South Carolina
C Ross Pierschbacher, Alabama
WR Deebo Samuel, South Carolina
WR Emanuel Hall, Missouri
QB Drew Lock, Missouri
RB D’Andre Swift, Georgia
RB Damien Harris, Alabama
AP Lynn Bowden, Kentucky

DL Isaiah Buggs, Alabama
DL Jonathan Ledbetter, Georgia
DL Terry Beckner, Missouri
DL Derrick Brown, Auburn
LB Dylan Moses, Alabama
LB Cale Garrett, Missouri
LB Mack Wilson, Alabama
DB CJ Henderson, Florida
DB Johnathan Abram, Mississippi State
DB Joejuan Williams, Vanderbilt
DB DeMarkus Acy, Missouri

PK Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia
P Joseph Charlton, South Carolina
RS Mecole Hardman, Georgia

Nick de la Torre
A South Florida native, Nick developed a passion for all things sports at a very young age. His love for baseball was solidified when he saw Al Leiter’s no-hitter for the Marlins live in May of 1996. He was able to play baseball in college but quickly realized there isn’t much of a market for short, slow outfielders that hit around the Mendoza line. Wanting to continue with sports in some capacity he studied journalism at the University of Central Florida. Nick got his first start in the business as an intern for a website covering all things related to the NFL draft before spending two seasons covering the Florida football team at Bleacher Report. That job led him to GatorCountry. When he isn’t covering Gator sports, Nick enjoys hitting way too many shots on the golf course, attempting to keep up with his favorite t.v. shows and watching the Heat, Dolphins and Marlins. Follow him on twitter @NickdelatorreGC