Three Gators land on postseason All-SEC teams

Three Florida Gators were honored on Tuesday being placed on postseason All-SEC teams as selected by the SEC coaches.

Sophomore Keyontae Johnson was a First Team selection while senior Kerry Blackshear Jr. was placed on the Second Team and Scottie Lewis was an SEC All-Freshman selectee.

In his second year with the Gators Johnson really found his footing during league play, ranking third among all SEC players with a 54.4% field goal percentage. He averaged 14 points and 7.1 rebounds. Through 31 games Johnson has scored double-digits in 23 contests, including eight double-doubles and six 20-plus point games. Through 31 games Johnson has led the Gators in scoring 15 times and has been Florida’s leading rebounder in 14 games. His best game of the season came against LSU when he posted a career-high 25 points along with 11 rebounds and five assists.

Blackshear transferred to Florida in the offseason and immediately made an impact on both ends of the floor. For the season he ranked fourth among all SEC players with 7.8 rebounds per game and has led the Gators in rebounding 14 times this season. Blackshear scored double figures 22 times in 2020 and recorded eight double-doubles.

Lewis has taken off of late. The freshman has turned the corner late in the season and is rounding into form as the Gators make a push for the NCAA Tournament. Lewis leads the Gators with 1.2 blocks-per-game, eighth-best in the SEC. he had a career-high 19 points in the Gators’ home loss to Kentucky last Saturday. Lewis was named SEC Freshman of the week after a stellar performance against Alabama that saw him record his first career double-double (15 points and 10 rebounds), as the Gators pulled off one of the largest comebacks in school history.

Complete SEC All-Conference Honors
First Team All-SEC
Kira Lewis Jr., Alabama
Mason Jones, Arkansas
Samir Doughty, Auburn
Keyontae Johnson, Florida
Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky
Nick Richards, Kentucky
Skylar Mays, LSU
Breein Tyree, Ole Miss
Reggie Perry, Mississippi State

Second Team All-SEC
John Petty Jr., Alabama
Isaac Okoro, Auburn
Kerry Blackshear Jr., Florida
Anthony Edwards, Georgia
Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky
Maik Kotsar, South Carolina
John Fulkerson, Tennessee
Saben Lee, Vanderbilt

All-Freshman Team
Jaden Shackelford, Alabama
Isaac Okoro, Auburn
Scottie Lewis, Florida
Anthony Edwards, Georgia
Tyrese Maxey, Kentucky
Trendon Watford, LSU
Jermaine Couisnard, South Carolina
Scotty Pippen Jr., Vanderbilt

All-Defensive Team
Herbert Jones, Alabama
Isaac Okoro, Auburn
Ashton Hagans, Kentucky
Nick Richards, Kentucky
Yves Pons, Tennessee

Coach of the Year: John Calipari, Kentucky
Player of the Year: Immanuel Quickley, Kentucky
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Skylar Mays, LSU
Freshman of the Year: Anthony Edwards, Georgia
Sixth-Man of the Year: Tyson Carter, Mississippi State
Defensive Player of the Year: Yves Pons, Tennessee

Nick de la Torre
A South Florida native, Nick developed a passion for all things sports at a very young age. His love for baseball was solidified when he saw Al Leiter’s no-hitter for the Marlins live in May of 1996. He was able to play baseball in college but quickly realized there isn’t much of a market for short, slow outfielders that hit around the Mendoza line. Wanting to continue with sports in some capacity he studied journalism at the University of Central Florida. Nick got his first start in the business as an intern for a website covering all things related to the NFL draft before spending two seasons covering the Florida football team at Bleacher Report. That job led him to GatorCountry. When he isn’t covering Gator sports, Nick enjoys hitting way too many shots on the golf course, attempting to keep up with his favorite t.v. shows and watching the Heat, Dolphins and Marlins. Follow him on twitter @NickdelatorreGC