Lorenz and Barnhill top SEC softball awards

Special report on the Florida Gators softball team:
BIRMINGHAM, Ala. – The Southeastern Conference announced its annual softball awards for the 2018 season Tuesday morning. The Florida softball team garnered 10 different accolades including both SEC Player and Pitcher of the Year.

For the second year in a row, Kelly Barnhill was tabbed as the SEC Pitcher of the Year, while Amanda Lorenz earned her first SEC Player of the Year award. The pair of juniors were dominant over the course of the 2018 regular season.

It’s only the second time in program history, first since Lauren Haeger and Kelsey Stewart in 2015, that UF has swept both awards.

“I’m very proud of all of our players who have worked so hard this season and to be recognized by the SEC and the SEC coaches shows how that hard work has paid off.” Head Coach Tim Walton said. “It takes a team to be successful, so these awards are shared with every player, the coaches and the staff.”

Barnhill and Lorenz both headlined the All-SEC First Team selections and were joined by seniors Nicole DeWitt and Aleshia Ocasio to round out the first team selections.

Hannah Adams registered a spot on the All-SEC Freshman Team along with Jordan Matthews. Adams was also selected to the All-SEC Defensive squad along with senior Janell Wheaton.

First Team All-SEC
Second Team All-SEC
P – Kelly Barnhill, Florida
P – Alexis Osorio, Alabama
P – Brittany Gray, Georgia
P – Mary Haff, Arkansas
P – Allie Walljasper, LSU
P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
IF – Nicole DeWitt, Florida
IF – Bailey Hemphill, Alabama
IF – Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
IF – Justice Milz, Georgia
IF – Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
IF – Katie Reed, Kentucky
IF – Aubrey Leach, Tennessee
IF – Rylee Pierce, Missouri
IF – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
IF – Mackenzie Boesel, South Carolina
OF – Kaylee Tow, Alabama
IF – Kenzi Maguire, South Carolina
OF – Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF – Elissa Brown, Alabama
OF – Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF – Hannah McEwen, Arkansas
OF – Scarlet McSwain, Tennessee
OF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU
C – Mia Davidson, Mississippi State
OF – Kolby Romaine, Missouri
DP/U – Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
C – Alyssa VanDerveer, South Carolina
DP/U – Cayla Kessinger, Missouri
Freshman All-SEC
SEC All-Defensive
P – Mary Haff, Arkansas
P – Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
P – Grace Baalman, Kentucky
C – Janell Wheaton, Florida
P – Kelsey Oh, South Carolina
C – Ashley Walters, Texas A&M
IF – Taylon Snow, Auburn
1B – Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
IF – Hannah Adams, Florida
2B – Hannah Adams, Florida
IF – Brooke Wilmes, Missouri
SS – Katie Reed, Kentucky
IF – Jana Johns, South Carolina
3B – Amanda Sanchez, Missouri
IF – Ashley Morgan, Tennessee
3B – Jana Johns, South Carolina
OF – Kaylee Tow, Alabama
LF – Aliyah Andrews, LSU
OF – Hannah McEwen, Arkansas
CF – Erica Russell, Texas A&M
OF – Taryn Antoine, LSU
RF – Sarah Hudek, Texas A&M
OF – Amanda Ayala, Tennessee
C – Mia Davidson, Mississippi State
DP/U – Jordan Matthews, Florida
Player of the Year: Amanda Lorenz, Florida
Pitcher of the Year: Kelly Barnhill, Florida
Freshman of the Year: Mia Davidson, Mississippi State
Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Katie Reed, Kentucky
Coach of the Year: Lu Harris-Champer, Georgia

Previous article’19 Target CJ Walker Talks Recruitment
Next articleContract details for Florida Gators position coaches
Andrew Spivey
Andrew always knew he wanted to be involved with sports in some capacity. He began by coaching high school football for six years before deciding to pursue a career in journalism. While coaching, he was a part of two state semifinal teams in the state of Alabama. Given his past coaching experience, he figured covering recruiting would be a perfect fit. He began his career as an intern for Rivals.com, covering University of Florida football recruiting. After interning with Rivals for six months, he joined the Gator Country family as a recruiting analyst. Andrew enjoys spending his free time on the golf course and watching his beloved Atlanta Braves. Follow him on Twitter at @AndrewSpiveyGC.