Driskel, Halapio and Easley to attend SEC Media Days

With the release of EA Sports annual college football title NCAA Football 14, college football fans got their first view of the light at the end of the offseason tunnel. The game’s release signals that there are just a few short months until we stop watching digital characters score touchdowns, and get a chance to watch the real thing on Saturday afternoons.

Today we received more news that makes that light at the end of the tunnel look a little bit bigger and less like a mirage, as the full list of players who will attend SEC Media Days was released.

Will Muschamp will bring seniors Jon Halapio and Dominique Easley, as well as junior quarterback Jeff Driskel.

Jon Halapio and Dominique Easley were easy selections. They are both seniors who have stepped up as team leaders in their own ways this offseason. Halapio has been a steady force at right guard for the Gators for three years and this is a nice reward for his long-term service.

Easley could have foregone his senior season and entered the NFL Draft last year but decided to stick it out at Florida. A trip to Hoover is a nice way to show Easley that the coaching staff appreciated his commitment to the team. Easley could give the media enough quotes to last us the entire season.

The somewhat surprising decision was bringing Jeff Driskel. Will Muschamp has only brought seniors to Media Days since his time at Florida began and bringing Driskel this season bucks that trend. By bringing Driskel, Muschamp is officially, and very publicly, letting Driskel know that he is the face of this football team.

Here is a list of the rest of the players who will be in attendance when SEC Media Days kick off a week from today on July 16.


A.J. McCarron, QB, Senior

C.J. Mosley, LB, Senior

Anthony Steen, OL, Senior


Chris Smith, DE, Senior

Travis Swanson, C, Senior

Kiero Small, FB, Senior


Chris Davis, CB, Senior

Dee Ford, DE, Senior

Jay Prosch, FB, Senior


Arthur Lynch, TE, Senior

Aaron Murray, QB, Senior

Garrison Smith, DE, Senior


Donte Rumph, DT, Senior

Raymond Sanders, RB, Senior

Avery Williamson, LB, Senior


Jarvis Landry, WR, Junior

Craig Loston, S, Senior

Zach Mettenberger, QB, Senior

Ole Miss

Donte Moncrief, WR, Junior

Mike Marry, LB, Senior

Bo Wallace, QB, Junior

Mississippi State

Kaleb Eulls, DL, Junior

Benardrick McKinney, LB, Sophomore

Tyler Russell, QB, Senior


James Franklin, QB, Senior

L’Damian Washington, WR, Senior

Andrew Wilson, LB, Senior

South Carolina

Jadeveon Clowney, DE, Junior

Bruce Ellington, WR/KR, Junior

Connor Shaw, QB, Senior


Antonio Richardson, OL, Junior

Ja’Wuan James, OL, Senior

Jacques Smith, DL, Senior

Texas A&M

Toney Hurd Jr., DB, Senior

Johnny Manziel, QB, Sophomore

Jake Matthews, OL, Senior


Andre Hal, CB, Senior

Wesley Johnson, OL, Senior

Jordan Matthews, WR, Senior



Previous articleGCTV: Lorenzo Carter Interview
Next articleBilly Donovan Press Conference Notebook
Nick de la Torre
A South Florida native, Nick developed a passion for all things sports at a very young age. His love for baseball was solidified when he saw Al Leiter’s no-hitter for the Marlins live in May of 1996. He was able to play baseball in college but quickly realized there isn’t much of a market for short, slow outfielders that hit around the Mendoza line. Wanting to continue with sports in some capacity he studied journalism at the University of Central Florida. Nick got his first start in the business as an intern for a website covering all things related to the NFL draft before spending two seasons covering the Florida football team at Bleacher Report. That job led him to GatorCountry. When he isn’t covering Gator sports, Nick enjoys hitting way too many shots on the golf course, attempting to keep up with his favorite t.v. shows and watching the Heat, Dolphins and Marlins. Follow him on twitter @NickdelatorreGC