Brenton Cox named to the Chuck Bednarik watch list

Special report on the Florida Gators football team:

SOUTHAMPTON, Pa. – Florida linebacker Brenton Cox Jr. was named to the Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List, the Maxwell Football Club announced Monday.

He has also collected All-SEC Preseason Second Team honors from Athlon, Phil Steele and the media at SEC Media Days.  Cox Jr. owned team-best in TFLs (14.5), sacks (8.5) and quarterback hurries (12) last season. Starting all 13 games last year, he posted back-to-back games against Florida State and UCF with 4.0 TFLs totaling a loss of 48 yards. In the final five games of the 2021 season, Cox Jr. had 20 tackles, 11 TFLs, seven sacks and six QBHs.

The Maxwell Football Club has once again partnered with Pro Football Focus (PFF), XOS and Phil Steele Publications as selection committee partners. PFF provides detailed metrics and performance-based assessments to selection committee staff, and several senior PFF analysts are members of our selection committee. Phil Steele’s College Football Preview is generally recognized as the most complete preseason magazine. XOS provides the Maxwell Club selection committee with access to game footage from all FBS colleges.

The Bednarik Award has been presented to the College Defensive Player of the Year since 1994 and is named in honor of Chuck “Concrete Charlie” Bednarik who was an All American player at the University of Pennsylvania and later a multiple year All Pro linebacker and center for the Philadelphia Eagles.

Semifinalists for the Chuck Bednarik Award will be announced Nov. 1 while the three finalists for the Bednarik Award will be unveiled on Nov. 22. The winners of the 28th Bednarik Award will be announced as part of the ESPN Home Depot College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 8

2022 Florida Football Watch List 

Award Player 
Maxwell Award Anthony Richardson
Doak Walker Award Nay’Quan Wright
Rimington Trophy Kingsley Eguakun
Butkus Award Ventrell Miller
Outland Trophy Gervon Dexter Sr.
Outland Trophy O’Cyrus Torrence
Wuerffel Trophy Nay’Quan Wright
Chuck Bednarik Award Brenton Cox Jr.

Florida Football Chuck Bednarik Award History 

Year Name (Result)
1998 Jevon Kearse (Finalist)
2008 Brandon Spikes (Semifinalist)
2009 Brandon Spikes (Finalist)
2012 Matt Elam (Semifinalist)
2014 Vernon Hargreaves III (Semifinalist)
2015 Jon Bullard (Semifinalist)
2015 Vernon Hargreaves III (Semifinalist)
2016 Jarrad Davis (Semifinalist)
2018 Jachai Polite (Semifinalist)
Andrew Spivey
Andrew always knew he wanted to be involved with sports in some capacity. He began by coaching high school football for six years before deciding to pursue a career in journalism. While coaching, he was a part of two state semifinal teams in the state of Alabama. Given his past coaching experience, he figured covering recruiting would be a perfect fit. He began his career as an intern for, covering University of Florida football recruiting. After interning with Rivals for six months, he joined the Gator Country family as a recruiting analyst. Andrew enjoys spending his free time on the golf course and watching his beloved Atlanta Braves. Follow him on Twitter at @AndrewSpiveyGC.