Meagher sweeps Goalie of the Year

Junior goalkeeper Mikey Meagher (Liverpool, N.Y.) completed her sweep of National Goalie of the Year honors this weekend, earning the honor of C. Markland Kelly Goalie of the Year by the Intercollegiate Women’s Lacrosse Coaches’ Association.

Meagher, who was also named Goalie of the Year by by and, is the first Gator to win a major postseason award from the IWLCA.

Mikey Meagher, a consensus First Team All-American, finished the season leading the nation in both save percentage (.537) and goals-against average (7.04), becoming just the third player to do so since the NCAA began tracking statistics in 1996. The junior keeper consistently had more saves than goals allowed, and finished the year one of just three netminders with a season save percentage above .500, sitting .025 above the second-best keeper in the nation. Meagher made 145 saves and allowed just 125 goals in 1066:31 minutes of play, earning a 16-3 record in 21 appearances.

An IWLCA First Team All-South Region selection and a member of the All-ALC Second Team, Meagher was named the Most Valuable Player of the ALC Tournament after making 16 saves and allowing just 11 goals in her two tournament starts. She then earned a spot on the NCAA All-Tournament team after making 15 saves in the NCAA Semifinals, including stopping 10 shots while allowing just three scores in the first half.

The IWLCA also gave out Division I honors for Attacker, Midfielder and Defender of the Year. NCAA Semifinalist Maryland had two honorees, as Tewaaraton Award winner Katie Schwarzmann was named Midfielder of the Year and Iliana Sanza took home Defender of the Year. NCAA Runner-Up Syracuse’s Michelle Tumolo was named Attacker of the Year.

Courtesy UF Communications