Gator athletics reaches 200 SEC Titles

The Gator athletic program reached a milestone on Sunday afternoon which has been in the works since 1933. That was the year the first Southeastern Conference titles were awarded by the league, established in December of 1932.

Florida, one the 13 founding members of the SEC, waited until 1937 for the men’s swimming & diving program to claim the Gators’ first league title. When the men’s golf team claimed the SEC title on Sunday, Florida’s number of SEC team titles now stands at a league-leading 200.

“The 200th SEC title is a testament to the dedication and drive shown by Gator student-athletes and coaches over these many seasons,’’ UF Athletics Director Jeremy Foley said. “Every title is celebrated because winning a championship in any of the league’s sports is a truly an accomplishment because of the strength of the SEC.”

Florida has won SEC titles this season in volleyball, soccer, women’s cross country, men’s basketball, men’s indoor track and field, women’s tennis and men’s golf, in addition to winning the American Lacrosse Conference title on Sunday.