Annual awards presented at Florida soccer banquet

The University of Florida soccer team held its annual awards banquet Sunday afternoon at Lake Wauburg.

Redshirt sophomore Kathryn Williamson is the recipient of the 2010 Players’ Choice Award. The Players’ Choice Award is given to the athlete that makes the biggest impression both on and off the field, as voted on by the members of the team. For her outstanding season at center back, Williamson was named the SEC Defensive Player of the Year, while also being named to the All-Southeastern Conference first team, National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) All-South Region first team and NSCAA All-America second team.

Redshirt sophomore McKenzie Barney is the 2010 Leadership Award recipient. In 2010, Barney led the SEC for goals (14), shared lead for game-winning goals (5) and was third in the league for points (32). Barney also was one of a program record 19 named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

The Iron Gator Award went to junior Jazmyne Avant for her strength and conditioning work in- and off-season. Sophomore midfielder Holly King picked up the Erin Baxter Effort Award, given to a player who pushes the team to higher levels. King averaged more than 82 minutes per match in 2010, including playing the entirety of 11 matches. She turned in a goal and two assists last season.

Sophomore Natalia Torosian was awarded the Karyn Hall Academic Excellence Award for her overall academic achievement. Torosian was named to the SEC Academic Honor roll this winter and turned in seven points (three goals, one assist). The Robin Fulton Academic Achievement Award, given to the player who displays hard work and determination in the classroom, was awarded to sophomore Erika Tymrak. Tymrak, a first team selection for both 2010 SEC and NSCAA All-South Region team, led the SEC in assists (13). She was third in points (25) for the Gators after turning in six goals and 13 assists. Tymrak also was named to the 2010 SEC Academic Honor Roll.

During the 2010 season, Florida claimed the Southeastern Conference regular-season and tournament titles. It held top 10 national rankings in 10 of the 12 NSCAA polls of the season.