Gator Football Team Awards

Senior safety Reggie Nelson received the Ray Graves Award to highlight the University of Florida football team’s annual banquet, which was held Saturday evening at the Touchdown Terrace in Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

Nelson received the honor, which is given to the squad’s Most Valuable Player as selected by his teammates. Defensive lineman Joe Cohen was named the Gene Ellenson Most Inspirational Award winner. Wide receiver Jemalle Cornelius received the Fergie Ferguson Award, which is presented annually to the senior player who displays outstanding leadership, character and courage. The James Kynes Award (outstanding lineman) went to Steve Harris. The Rex Farrior Award winner (team-oriented player) was defensive back Tremaine McCollum. The John Eibner Award as the top scout team player went to wide receiver Tim Higgins.

Quarterback Chris Leak earned the President’s Award (Athletics/Academics), while linebacker Brandon Siler was presented with the Orange Helmet Award (Best Football Player). Defensive lineman Ray McDonald was honored as the recipient of the Chris Patrick Courage Award given to the player who, after injury, demonstrated outstanding commitment and dedication in the athletic training room in an effort to return to activity with the team.

Wide receiver Percy Harvin was named the Eraste Autin Award winner, which is presented to the Freshman of the Year and linebacker Brian Crum earned the Greg See Award for the top attitude on the team. H-back Billy Latsko was honored for his work in the weight room with the Iron “Gator” Award. In addition, defensive back Reggie Lewis was given the award for Most Improved.

Brad Culpepper (1988-91) was appreciated as the Supporter/Former Player Award recipient for outside support.

Cornelius, McDonald, Leak, Latsko, Dallas Baker and Earl Everett received the Captain Award as the six served for Florida throughout the 2006 campaign.

Most outstanding player awards were also presented for position areas: Offensive Lineman, Steve Rissler; Defensive Lineman, Jarvis Moss; Linebacker, Earl Everett; Offensive Back, Chris Leak; Defensive Back, Ryan Smith; Wide Receiver, Dallas Baker; Special Teams Player, Eric Wilbur.


* Ray Graves Award (MVP) Reggie Nelson

* Gene Ellenson Award (Most Inspirational) Joe Cohen

* Fergie Ferguson Award (Outstanding Leadership) Jemalle Cornelius

* James Kynes Award (Outstanding Lineman) Steve Harris

* Greg See Award (Outstanding Attitude) Brian Crum

* Rex Farrior Award (Team-Oriented Player) Tremaine McCollum

* John Eibner Award (Outstanding Scout Team Player) Tim Higgins

* Eraste Autin Award (Freshman of the Year) Percy Harvin

* Iron “Gator” Award (Best in the Weight Room) Billy Latsko

* Orange Helmet Award (Best Football Player) Brandon Siler

* Chris Patrick Award (Battle back from injury) Ray McDonald

* President’s Award (Athletics/Academics) Chris Leak

* Most Improved Reggie Lewis

* Captains Award Dallas Baker, Jemalle Cornelius, Billy Latsko, Chris

* Leak, Earl Everett, Ray McDonald

* Supporter/Former Player (Outside Supporter) Brad Culpepper

Most Outstanding Player Awards

* Offensive Lineman Steve Rissler

* Defensive Lineman Jarvis Moss

* Linebacker Earl Everett

* Offensive Back Chris Leak

* Defensive Back Ryan Smith

* Wide Receiver Dallas Baker

* Special Teams Eric Wilbur