53 Gators gain SEC academic honors

BIRMINGHAM, AL — Fifty-three University of Florida student-athletes were named Tuesday to the 2010 Southeastern Conference Winter Academic Honor Roll by league commissioner Mike Slive. Every eligible member of Florida’s 2010 SEC championship gymnastics team (must be a sophomore or above) was named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

Florida’s 53 SEC Academic Honor Roll recipients is second among the SEC schools. Alabama led with 56 named to the list, while Georgia was third with 42.

The 2010 SEC Winter Academic Honor Roll is based on grades from the 2009 Spring, Summer and Fall terms. Senior gymnast Rebekah Zaiser, recipient of a $7,500 scholarship as UF’s female nominee for the Boyd

McWhorter Scholar-Athlete Post-Graduate Scholarship, turned in a 4.0 grade point average for the three terms.

Three Gator teams tied for the league high of honorees — men’s basketball (5), women’s basketball (6) and men’s swimming and diving. Every eligible member of Florida’s 2010 SEC championship gymnastics team (must be a sophomore or above) was named to the SEC Academic Honor Roll.

To be recognized to the SEC Academic Honor Roll, each student-athlete must 1) have a GPA of 3.00 for either the preceding academic year or have a cumulative GPA of 3.00 or above at the nominating institution; 2) be on scholarship, a letterwinner or have participated on a varsity team for two years if non-scholarship; 3) have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial credit at the nominating institution; and 4) have been a member of the varsity team for the sport’s entire NCAA Championship segment.

MEN’S BASKETBALL: Adam Allen, JR, Telecommunications Production; Hudson Fricke, JR, Event Management; Kyle McClanahan, SO, Finance; Chandler Parsons, JR, Telecommunications Production

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL: Ebonie Crawford, JR, Criminology; Jordan Jones, SO, Business Administration; Trumae Lucas, SO, Telecommunications Operations; Sharielle Smith, SR, Telecommunications Production; Steffi Sorensen, SR, Telecommunications Management; Susan Yenser, SR, Graduate, Decision/Information Information Sciences

GYMNASTICS: Amanda Castillo, SR, Marketing; Nicole Ellis, SO, Exercise Physiology; Alicia Goodwin, JR, Sport Management; Elizabeth Mahlich, SO, Health Education and Behavior; Maranda Smith, SR, Anthropology; Rebekah Zaiser, SR, Biology; Amy Ferguson Gymnastics, SO, Business Administration; Courtney Gladys, SR, Advertising; Ashley Kerr, SR, Marketing

(The University of Florida sports information staff contributed to this report)

MEN’S SWIMMING AND DIVING: Colin Bell, SO, Criminology; Ryan Crete, SR, Geology; Brett Fraser, JR, Finance; Shaune Fraser, SR, Finance; Balazs Gercsak, JR, Telecommunications Production; Brian Howell, SO, Zoology; Jonathan Jordan, SO, Microbiology; Michael Joyce, JR, Tourism and Hospitality Management; Robby Kennedy, SO, Criminology; Anthony Lewark, SO, Health Education and Behavior; Alex Martin, JR, Advertising; Grayson Patten, JR, Sport Management; Joey Pedraza, JR, Anthropology; Logan Storie, JR, Natural Resource Management; Bobby Walsh, JR, Marketing

WOMEN’S SWIMMING AND DIVING: Angelina Ballatore, SO, Telecommunications News; Sarah Bateman, SO, Zoology; Kristen Beales, SR, History; Teresa Crippen, SO, Sport Management; Kaylee Doback, SO, Health Professions; Monica Dodson, JR, Telecommunications News; Coral Lopez, SR, Telecommunications News; Jemma Lowe, SO, Mathematics; Julia Nagy, SO, Accounting; Stacey Nedrud, SR, Zoology; Sarah Peterson, SR, Advertising; Anna-Liisa Pold, SO, Psychology/Criminology; Lily Ramirez, SO, Criminology; Kirsten Smith, SO, Zoology; Gemma Spofforth, SR , Family, Youth and Community Sciences; Shara Stafford, SO, Family, Youth and Community Sciences; Maida Turnadzic, SO, Family, Youth and Community Sciences; Daniela Victoria, SO, Tourism and Hospitality Management