Gator Country’s Preseason All-SEC Team

The unofficial kickoff of the SEC football season doesn’t take place in the Swamp, between the hedges, on the checkerboard endzones in Rocky Top, or even in the house that Bear Bryant built in Tuscaloosa. The unofficial start of the SEC football season doesn’t even start on a football field at all.

It starts this week at the Hyatt Regency – the Wynfrey Hotel in Hoover, Alabama.

That’s right, the most powerful conference in all of college football starts their season this week in hotel ballrooms and conference rooms as the entire nation looks on. Players will look decidedly different, clad in suit and tie rather than helmet and pads and we’ll all appreciate the air conditioning.

There are over 1,200 credentialed members of the media set to be in attendance for SEC Media Days – the most ever for the event. Part of the responsibility of being credentialed for the event is filling out your SEC ballot.

The first portion of the ballot has the media members fill out their preseason All-SEC teams. While the three of us at all filled out our own ballots to send in separately, we also came to a consensus All-SEC team based on our individual picks.

While a lot of the selections were unanimous, we each at one point had to go to bat for a player that we thought deserved to be on the team. The debate gave us – in our opinion – a very deserving and talented preseason All-SEC team.


A.J. McCarron – Alabama

Running Back

Todd Gurley – Georgia

T.J. Yeldon – Alabama

Wide Receiver

Amari Cooper – Alabama

Jordan Matthews – Vanderbilt

Tight End

Arthur Lynch – Georgia

Offensive Guard/Offensive Tackle

Anthony Steen – Alabama

Gabe Jackson – Mississippi State

Jon Halapio – Florida

Jake Matthews – Texas A&M


Jonotthan Harrison – Florida

Defensive Line

Jadeveon Clowney – South Carolina

Dominique Easley – Florida

Kelcy Quarles – South Carolina

Chris Smith – Arkansas


C.J. Mosley – Alabama

A.J. Johnson – Tennessee

Avery Williamson – Kentucky

Defensive Backs

Marcus Roberson – Florida

HaHa Clinton Dix – Alabama

Deion Bleu – Alabama

Andre Hal – Vanderbilt


Carey Spear – Vanderbilt


Kyle Christy – Florida


Andre Debose – Florida


Odell Beckham Jr. – LSU



Previous articleButkus Award Watch List
Next SEC Team Picks
Nick de la Torre
A South Florida native, Nick developed a passion for all things sports at a very young age. His love for baseball was solidified when he saw Al Leiter’s no-hitter for the Marlins live in May of 1996. He was able to play baseball in college but quickly realized there isn’t much of a market for short, slow outfielders that hit around the Mendoza line. Wanting to continue with sports in some capacity he studied journalism at the University of Central Florida. Nick got his first start in the business as an intern for a website covering all things related to the NFL draft before spending two seasons covering the Florida football team at Bleacher Report. That job led him to GatorCountry. When he isn’t covering Gator sports, Nick enjoys hitting way too many shots on the golf course, attempting to keep up with his favorite t.v. shows and watching the Heat, Dolphins and Marlins. Follow him on twitter @NickdelatorreGC