Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

What people think of the 70s. and 80s

Discussion in 'Too Hot for Swamp Gas' started by dnewhous, Apr 21, 2021.

1. homer

homer GC Hall of Fame

Nov 2, 2015
    I wish I could go back. I graduated HS in 71.

I still listen to the music.

• Like Like x 2
  2. sierragator

sierragator GC Hall of Fame

Apr 8, 2007
    I appreciate some of the music from that era more now than I did at the time.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. wgbgator

wgbgator Premium Member

Apr 19, 2007
    A Van Down By the River
    The 70s is definitely the most interesting decade musically, the pinnacle of the recording industry really. It was just rolling in money and drugs, so some of the worst and best music ever recorded was made during that era, because no one cared about budgets or declining revenue. The excess of the era tends to be what sticks in popular consciousness though.

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Fistbump/Thanks! Fistbump/Thanks! x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. tilly

tilly Superhero Mod. Fast witted. Bulletproof posts. Moderator VIP Member

80's kid here. The music lacked artistry in a lot of ways, but it was OUR music, and I still love it.

• Like Like x 4
    • Funny Funny x 1
  5. tegator80

tegator80 GC Hall of Fame

May 29, 2007
    Richmond, VA
    The 70s is the era of some absolute classics with a LOT of utter crap. The 80s was sort of an exorcism of the funky side of the 70s. The era of one hit wonders and the new wave.

And big hair. WTH were we thinking!?!

Last edited: Apr 21, 2021
    • Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. RealGatorFan

RealGatorFan Premium Member

Apr 3, 2007
    The 1970s signified the end of music as we know it. This is a really good YouTube video that is a relatively short 20 minutes that uses science to prove music is getting worse.

• Informative Informative x 3
    • Funny Funny x 2