Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!
  1. Folks, some of you have asked if we were trimming our forums since there are no sports at the moment. We’re going to keep everything open on the forums to provide a sense of normalcy here. It’s our hope Gator Country can be a place of comfort for you during these crazy times. Be safe my friends and take care. -Ray and the GC staff. GO GATORS IN AL KINDS OF WEATHER!

PS. If you happen to find yourself in tight financial circumstances with regards to renewing here please reach out to us. We’d be happy to help sort it out.

The Outlet Pass: We Need to Use It

Discussion in 'Nuttin' but Net' started by murphree_hall, Feb 23, 2020.

1. murphree_hall

murphree_hall All American

Jul 11, 2019
    I'm a Coach White supporter, but one thing I criticize is the lack of outlet passing on this team. Such a basic and necessary part of the game. When there is a steal or rebound, our players will do one of several things:

- Pass backwards to the point guard, thus allowing the defense to get set up where they had previously been at a disadvantage

- Jog up the court head forward without turning around looking for the outlet pass

- In the rare case there is an outlet pass, nobody is running and filling the lanes

Not sure why this is happening. I think our PGs are kind of control freaks and think they need to control the ball at all times. I have been like that on teams, myself, but only when I had guys who would turn it over if they tried to initiate a break. Maybe that is why Coach is directing/allowing them to play this way. I'm a point guard, but if I have other competent passers and dribblers on my team, as soon as the shot goes up I'm taking off downcourt like a wide receiver looking for the pass and layup.

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Winner Winner x 3
    • Like Like x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  2. tundragator

tundragator GC Legend

Oct 26, 2015