Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

The Eagle has landed

Discussion in 'Diamond Gators' started by BA69MA72, Jul 17, 2019.

1. BA69MA72

BA69MA72 All American

Apr 8, 2007
    Apologize if this is narcissistic. This being a baseball forum, and the 50th anniversary of the moon landing, it's one of the memorable times of my life.

I graduated in June 69--not from UF (see my login) and while waiting to hear from my draft board about my future I had a part-time job doing PR for our local Cal League SF Giants minor league affiliate, including serving as stadium announcer (if you're old enough, George Foster and Steve Stone were our most successful "grads")

After the Eagle landed there was uncertainty about exactly when the astronauts would emerge. We had a game scheduled for that day, but our GM didn't want to play if it would compete. Unfortunately, we had a rainout the day before, and had no choice but to play.

No video boards, iPads, in those days. Our stadium security guy (yep, one guy--looked like Barney Fife, but didn't act like him) brought a 13-inch b&w portable tv up to the press box (if you're old enough you know exactly what the tv looked like).

So, the 4-5 of us in the press box watched tv coverage of the moon events. For some reason there was a decent crowd. We wondered in the press box why anyone would be at the game. )

It was late afternoon with a blue sky and a half or quarter moon visible. Thanks to the little portable tv, when it happened I got to announce "Attention please. Neil Armstrong has just stepped onto the moon."

Maybe the weirdest thing--nobody cheered or made noise, but everyone looked up at the moon.

I don't remember who we played or what the score was.

• Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 2
    • Fistbump/Thanks! Fistbump/Thanks! x 1
  2. 74nole

74nole GC Hall of Fame

Apr 9, 2007
    Marianna, Fl
    ^^^^

Outstanding BA, outstanding!!!

• Agree Agree x 3