Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

talking about the “untouchable”

Discussion in 'Too Hot for Swamp Gas' started by studegator, Mar 25, 2024.

1. studegator

studegator GC Legend

Feb 24, 2008
    Veterans disability—-
    I’ll start by saying I’m a vet, AirForce worked on F4 Phantoms.

What I am having trouble understanding, is that I know several vets whom worked full careers of 40 or more years, Then retired drawing retirement and SS checks. Started going to the VA and are now declared “disabled” and drawing 100% disability checks (45,000+per year) from the VA.
    If they weren’t disabled before, how can they suddenly become disabled and drawing full disability checks paid for by us taxpayers?
    bumfuzzed —-
    These are the same people I used to hear complain about welfare recipients——

• Informative Informative x 1
  2. vaxcardinal

vaxcardinal GC Hall of Fame

Apr 8, 2007
    Does it have to do with the way disability is defined?

3. l_boy

l_boy 5500

Jan 6, 2009
    I can’t possibly comment on this based on some generic anecdote. Mental health issues are difficult. Some physical disabilities become more acute later in life. They are now finding that some people exposed to a lot of “routine” explosions have negative effects on their brains. CTE often gets worse with age. Look at some of these football players 2 decades after they retire. So it is certainly plausible that someone could work for years and later succumb to disability. Whether that happened here or not I couldn’t possibly know.

Profound Damage Found in Maine Gunman’s Brain, Possibly From Blasts

• Winner Winner x 1
  4. BigCypressGator1981

BigCypressGator1981 GC Hall of Fame

Oct 11, 2011
    Vets are some of the last people I’m worried about taking advantage of Uncle Sam. If anyone has earned it…

• Agree Agree x 5
    • Winner Winner x 3
  5. CaptUSMCNole

CaptUSMCNole Premium Member

May 23, 2007
    NCR