Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!
  1. Folks, some of you have asked if we were trimming our forums since there are no sports at the moment. We’re going to keep everything open on the forums to provide a sense of normalcy here. It’s our hope Gator Country can be a place of comfort for you during these crazy times. Be safe my friends and take care. -Ray and the GC staff. GO GATORS IN AL KINDS OF WEATHER!

PS. If you happen to find yourself in tight financial circumstances with regards to renewing here please reach out to us. We’d be happy to help sort it out.

Just Curious....

Discussion in 'Nuttin' but Net' started by KAGator67, Feb 19, 2020.

1. KAGator67

KAGator67 GC Hall of Fame

Feb 2, 2011
    I'm curious what people think about the zone defenses for this team. I personally prefer man on man.. and it seems as though we play man on man very well. Zone .. we seem to have a lot of breakdowns

Anyway I'm not a expert strategist so I'd like to get other opinions on this.

2. VTGator

VTGator GC Hall of Fame

Apr 17, 2007
    Nice to be able to switch things up a bit when the other team gets too comfortable offensively. Gotta run it every once in a while so that you are ready when you really need it.

• Agree Agree x 5
  3. GatorPlanet

GatorPlanet GC Hall of Fame

Apr 15, 2007
    Maitland, FL
    I prefer using both and mixing 'em up to throw off the opponent. But a lot depends on the personnel of both teams.
    As a base defense, I like man-to-man. Switch frequently and back again with zone. As I recall, Awbrin was stymied when we switched to zone, and that decided the game. Or am I confusing that with another game?

• Agree Agree x 4
  4. GatorPlanet

Apr 15, 2007
    Maitland, FL
    Zone is quite effective against talented but inexperienced freshmen. It takes a while to learn how to exploit the holes in zone.

5. akaGatorhoops

akaGatorhoops VIP Member GC Columnist

Apr 10, 2007