Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

Coach going too Far/Catcher intentionally hits batter…

Discussion in 'GatorGrowl's Diamond Gators' started by QGator2414, May 20, 2023.

  1. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    Not sure how many have seen this but there was an incident out in Texas during a High School Softball playoff game that has me wanting real consequences.

    A high school catcher has clearly been coached to draw an interference call. The problem is the coach (possibly criminal imo) coached his catcher to violate the purpose of the game. I really do not put much on the catcher. I think they are a victim here. Unfortunately they will now need to earn trust back because of their coach. But you will see a catcher literally target a batter and in a manner that is beyond dangerous. Twice. Once there was a technical play at third. But you will see that was no way part of the catchers intent. The one where she flat nails the batter in the head is hard to watch. There was no play at third.

    The coach should have been suspended immediately by the AD at the school. And likely fired. I understand the rule he was trying to take advantage of. But he completely crossed every line of sports and sportsmanship in doing so. This poor catcher he was coaching has been led by one of the worst examples possible. And now has to live with that. These batters were arguably still in the box. And as a dad/coach (who was ignorant of the rule from the standpoint of it being taken advantage of until last fall when my daughter played travel for the first time and had it used against her though not to this degree) this infuriates me.

    High school softball team under investigation after viral video of catcher throwing balls at batters' heads

    Here is a breakdown of the at bats which are in the link above….



    The coach and AD are to meet with a disciplinary committee….

    https://www.yourbasin.com/news/mccamey-softball-coach-to-appear-at-uil-disciplinary-hearing/
     
    • Fistbump/Thanks! Fistbump/Thanks! x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  2. OklahomaGator

    OklahomaGator Jedi Administrator Moderator VIP Member

    121,295
    162,141
    116,973
    Apr 3, 2007
    If that catcher was coached to do that, the coach is a POS.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
    • Winner Winner x 2
  3. toprowgator

    toprowgator All American

    482
    147
    1,733
    Jun 24, 2019
    Softball's weird.
     
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. jhfxof

    jhfxof GC Hall of Fame

    2,800
    117
    263
    Apr 21, 2007
    Looks like free bases for the runners to me..?? lol

    Just stay in box or could get called for batter interference
     
    • Disagree Bacon! Disagree Bacon! x 1
  5. number1

    number1 GC Hall of Fame

    3,868
    413
    1,813
    Oct 9, 2011
    She definitely was. I just can't see a player feeling perfectly comfortable to try and hit the batter twice and not even make an attempt to apologize.
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  6. number1

    number1 GC Hall of Fame

    3,868
    413
    1,813
    Oct 9, 2011
    That coach definitely should be removed and the player suspended.
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  7. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    Two problems. The batter is arguably in the box when the throw happens. And the bigger problem is the intent is not to make a play. But instead to hit a player with the ball. The batter is not in the line of where the throw needs to go.

    This Coach should never coach again!
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  8. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    Yep.

    I do think the player is a victim to a point here. Now if I was able to question her that may change my opinion. But this is more on the coach imo. The catcher sadly now has to deal with this the rest of her life though. Because of the coach!
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
  9. jhfxof

    jhfxof GC Hall of Fame

    2,800
    117
    263
    Apr 21, 2007
    Didnt say not in box,,just need to stay in or batter 'could' be called.. If coach is coaching to allow free bases I agree needs fired.

    if throwing to 3rd , a RH is alwayws techinally in path,,up to C to throw around,,why u stay in box.
     
  10. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    Yes always stay in the box to avoid controversy.

    But interference means you are in the way of a throw to make a play.

    The catcher only made a play to hit the batter. They were not throwing to their teammate. If they were making a legitimate throw to their 3B and batter is out of the box then it is interference. This is dirty and has NO place in sports! It was not interference. Hence the umpire did not call it. That said the umpire should be suspended as well for not protecting the batter and the game of Baseball/Softball!
     
    • Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 1
  11. TJtheGator

    TJtheGator GC Hall of Fame

    11,364
    1,899
    2,128
    Apr 3, 2007
    Orlando, FL
    The batter is holding a bat. I say she puts it to use.
     
    • Funny Funny x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
    • Winner Winner x 1
  12. OklahomaGator

    OklahomaGator Jedi Administrator Moderator VIP Member

    121,295
    162,141
    116,973
    Apr 3, 2007
    Serious question, not sure of the rule, if the batter stays in the box, the batter can not be called for interference?
     
  13. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    If the batter stays in the box they should not be called for interference. The catcher has to throw around them. If they step out of the box and in the way of the line the throw then the catcher can try to throw through them and get an interference call. I think the rule is written poorly but don’t quote me on that. I believe they may not have the catcher must be making a legitimate play. Not really something that should need to be added. But after this…

    I had a situation years ago in a championship game where we were headed to extra innings. My daughter threw a strike down the middle. The batter attempted to bunt the ball and it hit her hand. Should have been a strike regardless of the attempted bunt. The umpire gave her first base for being hit by pitch. Just bad umpiring as he said he was protecting the players. I said no you’re not. You are putting them in danger. As based on this call I may as well just have every batter lean completely over the plate and take a pitch. The game would never end by your position…

    The umpire in the video is far worse the more I thought about it. The catcher should have been tossed from the game after the second one. Maybe he felt the first one was just a bad throw. Once it was obvious no play was being made but only the attempt to hit someone. The player needs to be tossed. Then the AD should have fired the coach immediately after being shown the video of what happened. At least imo…
     
    Last edited: May 21, 2023
    • Agree Agree x 4
  14. gatorfan5220

    gatorfan5220 VIP Member

    7,642
    249
    353
    Apr 3, 2007
    One of the worst things I've seen in a ball game.
     
    • Agree Agree x 4
  15. johnny_cakes

    johnny_cakes GC Hall of Fame

    1,014
    360
    1,858
    Apr 2, 2017
    KSP Stadium
    Respectfully disagree. Rule states that the batter is out if she "interferes with the catcher's fielding or throwing by stepping out of the batter's box or making any other movement that hinders the catcher's play." if the batter remains still in the batter's box and makes no movement (unlikely), then she is protected from interference. If her movement in the box doesn't hinder the throw, then no interference. But make any movement that hinders, even while still in the box, then its interference. Intent is not part of the equation.

    Like most of the obstruction rules, there's just no way to write a rule that works. It's unfortunate that there just can't be common sense. Like when the Supreme Court couldn't define pornography and Justice Stewart wrote, "I may not be able to define it, but I know it when I see it."
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2023
    • Like Like x 1
  16. johnny_cakes

    johnny_cakes GC Hall of Fame

    1,014
    360
    1,858
    Apr 2, 2017
    KSP Stadium
    I just Google'd to find out what happened. Couldn't find the result of the hearing (maybe it hasn't happened yet), but found this extremely disturbing:

    "However, as the viral video has circled social media, similar accounts surfaced of other teams experiencing the same thing against McCamey this season."
     
    • Informative Informative x 3
  17. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    I originally posted this in Too Hot as I frequent that forum more often. @OklahomaGator asked me to post it here as well. Glad he did!

    To your point…my first time dealing with this was actually last fall when my daughter for the first time played travel. I was not at the game so this is hearsay from that regard. But everything lines up. She is a really good ball player. Never done travel was the MVP as a freshman for the JV at her high school and probably would have played varsity all year had she.l not been a pitcher also. But playing city league we dealt with throw downs to third but it never got to the point of seeing a catcher coached to try and hit a player instead of making a play. Again. I was not there. But my daughters first at bat ever in 18U travel ball she was hit by a throw to third and called out after 5 minutes. My understanding was she was in the box. It was after at least one pitch and the team notices she backed up after the pitch (probably on the line of the box). A pitch or two later the catcher hits her on a throw. Probably not egregious like this but…

    After they argue for the out call and our coaches argue for 5 minutes she is called out in her first ever at bat for a travel game 18U as a 14 year old. Good news is she learned and ended the season batting in the top 3 of the lineup for the championship games. But I have no doubt that Coach was coaching this crap.
     
    Last edited: May 22, 2023
  18. gatorstevelp

    gatorstevelp Premium Member

    2,686
    718
    1,963
    Apr 3, 2007
    From what I read the softball coach is also the head football coach AND THE A.D.
     
    • Informative Informative x 2
  19. WESGATORS

    WESGATORS Moderator VIP Member

    22,260
    1,244
    2,008
    Apr 3, 2007
    I'm trying to wrap my mind around this part, and I just can't give the catcher a pass. Like many things in life, kids are corrupted by negative influences, but accountability is important. That catcher deserves punishment just like the coach and the umpire. I don't think there's any chance that the catcher did not know that what they were doing was wrong (or at minimum, the catcher should have known that it was wrong). It's important for young people to learn that there are consequences for poor behavior even if coerced to do so. Just my two bits. Maybe even something like Freshmen Batting Practice. ;)



    Go GATORS!
    ,WESGATORS
     
    • Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  20. QGator2414

    QGator2414 VIP Member

    17,810
    1,352
    1,308
    Aug 24, 2009
    Ocala
    I probably worded it poorly being on a message board. My point is the catcher is young and unfortunately at an age that I can at least understand her following instructions. Even knowing they might be pushing what we know is right and wrong. I absolutely think the catcher should have been thrown out of the game. From there...suspension more based on asking the questions and seeing the response.

    The umpire should be suspended. The coach and it sounds like AD should never be allowed to coach again.

    I just hope the player learns from this. Just frustrating that adults (parents in the stands sure seemed to approve of her behavior/decision to throw at another player) have damaged that catcher to the point she would actually do what she did.
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2023
    • Like Like x 3