Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

Big Tech (Particularly Google) Present Biggest Threat to Democracy

Discussion in 'Too Hot for Swamp Gas' started by madgator, Jul 21, 2019.

1. madgator

madgator GC Hall of Fame

May 28, 2007

Dr. Robert Epstein's testimony to the senate earlier this week is a must watch for all americans.

PDF of the testimony here
    https://www.judiciary.senate.gov/imo/media/doc/Epstein Testimony.pdf

I have been a research psychologist for nearly 40 years and have also served in various editorial positions at Psychology Today magazine and Scientific American MIND. I received my Ph.D. at Harvard University in 1981 and have since published 15 books and more than 300 scientific and mainstream articles on artificial intelligence and other topics. Since 2012, some of my research and writings have focused on Google LLC, specifically on the company’s power to suppress content – the censorship problem, if you will – as well as on the massive surveillance the company conducts, and also on the company’s unprecedented ability to manipulate the thoughts and behavior of more than 2.5 billion people worldwide.
    Data I’ve collected since 2016 show that Google displays content to the American public that is biased in favor on one political party (Epstein & Williams, 2019) – a party I happen to like, but that’s irrelevant. No private company should have either the right or the power to manipulate large populations without their knowledge.

If you were to examine the data I have been collecting over the past 6-and-a-half years, every one of you would put partisanship aside and collaborate to reign in the extraordinary power that Google and Facebook now wield with unabashed arrogance.
    Here are five disturbing findings from my research, which adheres, I believe, to the highest possible scientific standards in all respects: