Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

Ask The Chef

Discussion in 'Swamp Cook Shack' started by WhattaGator, Feb 9, 2019.

1. WhattaGator

WhattaGator Ever Vigilant Psycho Mod Moderator VIP Member "Cook Shack Chef"

Have any questions about preparing a meal, whether it be for two or twenty?

Need a recipe for something you've been craving?

Questions about grilling, smoking, braising, broiling?
    Fry or Saute' what's the difference?

I've been a Certified Exeutive Chef since '78, and there seem to be a few other talented folks out there, as well.

Feel free to ask.

• Winner Winner x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  2. insuragator

insuragator Premium Member

Apr 3, 2007
    I just got a Damascus steel knife. Unbelievable how sharp it is. What is the best way/form of sharpening it to keep the edge? Whetstone? Sharpening steel?

I still cant believe the way it glides through an onion

• Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  3. WhattaGator

That's a beautiful piece of cutlery.

Which brings up a great point.

First.... for all the readers... There's NOTHING more dangerous than trying to cut, slice, etc... with a dull knife!

When you have a sharp blade, as you use it, it actually DOESN'T "dull"... what happens is, the edge gets pushed off to the side very slightly.

Get a good "sharpening", or knife steel. Before each time you use your knife, hold it at about a 30 degree angle against the steel, and simply draw the blade along the steel about 4 -5 times on each side. That will bring your knife edge back into true, and, with regular use, it should hold its edge for anywhere from 6 months to a year or more, depending on use.
    After that, I take my knives to a professional sharpener, and the knives are good to go again.

For your brand new knofe...NEVER try using a whetstone on it.

Hope that helps.

• Like Like x 2
    • Winner Winner x 1
    • Informative Informative x 1
  4. insuragator