Welcome home, fellow Gator.

The Gator Nation's oldest and most active insider community
Join today!

10 Things that will shock you about Minnesota

Discussion in 'GatorTail Pub' started by gatorknights, Apr 25, 2019.

1. gatorknights

gatorknights GC Hall of Fame

Apr 8, 2007
    Gainesville, FL
    Dude pretty much nails it. He clearly did his homework when putting this together.

The North Shore sure is beautiful, too bad there is this thing called winter. :)

• Like Like x 4
    • Winner Winner x 1
  2. tegator80

tegator80 GC Hall of Fame

May 29, 2007
    Richmond, VA
    Not that I am an expert, I believe Minnesota and the region can be best described as "July and winter." Kind of the exact opposite of middle/south Florida, which has February and summer.

• Like Like x 1
  3. gatorknights

Apr 8, 2007
    Gainesville, FL
    Another one is there are two seasons in MN. Winter and Road Construction.

• Agree Agree x 1
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. lacuna

lacuna The Conscience of Too Hot Moderator VIP Member

Apr 8, 2007
    Redlands, Colorado
    @gatorknights ~ You've been in Florida a good many years. Have you retained your accent? The disappearance of regional accents saddens me. Don't care what they are - Maine, Boston, New Yawk, Joisey, midwest, southern, Cajun, whatever - I love hearing them.

When Trucker and I left Florida the first time in June, 1970 we moved to Wilmington, Delaware and I remember people there commenting on my southern accent. When we went back to Florida for Thanksgiving that year my mother's next door neighbor told me I sounded like a "Yankee."

• Like Like x 2
  5. gatorknights

Apr 8, 2007
    Gainesville, FL
    When I got down here for college, the locals made fun of my Minnesoooota accent. I went up for a buddy's wedding that summer, six months after being here, and they were giving me grief about my "southern" accent. :D