Vogel, McCumber are All-Americans

A pair of Gator men’s golfers, juniors T.J. Vogel (Cooper City, Fla.) and Tyler McCumber (Ponte Vedra, Fla.), have been named to the Division I PING All-American Teams, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) announced this week.

With the honors for Vogel and McCumber, the Gators have now had at least one player earn All-America honors for the 14th-consecutive season. Additionally, UF has had an All-American in 23 of its 25 seasons under head coach Buddy Alexander.

Vogel, a second-team selection, had an impressive season for the Orange and Blue recording a pair of victories and finishing in the top-10 on nine separate occasions. Additionally, Vogel led the Gators in stroke average (71.3), rounds counted (93 percent), birdies (132) and scoring differential (2.05).

McCumber, who garnered honorable mention honors, is coming off an impressive tie for second at the NCAA Championships. For the season, McCumber recorded seven top-10 finishes and tallied a solid 72.8 stroke average.

The Gators put together an impressive 2011-12 season which included three tournament victories and seven top-3 finishes. The Gators will return a strong lineup in 2012-13 with their entire roster expected to return with the exception of seniors Michael Furci (Sayville, N.Y.) and Zach Lee (Ponte Vedra, Fla.).

PING All-America Teams

First Team

Blayne Barber, Auburn

Julien Brun, TCU

Dylan Frittelli, Texas

Stephan Jaeger, Chattanooga

Daniel Miernicki, Oregon

Thomas Pieters, Illinois

Patrick Rodgers, Stanford

Jordan Spieth, Texas

Justin Thomas, Alabama

Chris Williams, Washington

Eugene Wong, Oregon

Second Team

Patrick Cantlay, UCLA

Pedro Figueiredo, UCLA

Luke Guthrie, Illinois

Brooks Koepka, Florida State

Ben Kohles, Virginia

Cheng-Tsung Pan, Washington

J.J. Spaun, San Diego State

T.J. Vogel, Florida

Cory Whitsett, Alabama

Andrew Yun, Stanford

Third Team

Zac Blair, BYU

Alex Ching, San Diego

Max Homa, California

Robert Karlsson, Liberty

Joakim Mikkelsen, Baylor

Julian Suri, Duke

Julio Vegas, Texas

James White, Georgia Tech

Peter Williamson, Dartmouth

Bobby Wyatt, Alabama

Honorable Mention

Anders Albertson, Georgia Tech

Josh Anderson, Pepperdine

Anton Arboleda, UCLA

Kevin Aylwin, North Florida

Dominic Bozzelli, Auburn

Sebastian Cappelen, Arkansas

John Catlin, New Mexico

Albin Choi, NC State

Eric Chun, Northwestern

Corey Conners, Kent State

Sean Dale, North Florida

Greg Eason, UCF

Derek Ernst, UNLV

Ricardo Gouveia, UCF

Vaita Guillaume, Campbell

Brandon Hagy, California

Jeffrey Kang, Southern California

Michael Kim, California

Will Kropp, Oklahoma

Steve Lim, Southern California

Tyler McCumber, Florida

Nate McCoy, Iowa State

Corbin Mills, Clemson

Keith Mitchell, Georgia

Cameron Peck, Texas A&M

Kevin Penner, UNLV

Matt Schovee, SMU

Max Scodro, Notre Dame

Ethan Tracy, Arkansas

Joseph Winslow, Iowa

Sang Yi, LSU

Courtesy UF Communications