George named to Naismith watch list

University of Florida senior Jennifer George joins Baylor senior Brittney Griner and Delaware senior Elena Delle Donne on the 2012‐2013 Naismith women’s early season watch list, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced today.

The 50 player watch list was compiled by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors, which based its criteria on player performances from the previous year and expectations for the 2012‐2013 college basketball season. The Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

A 2012 First Team All-Southeastern Conference performer, George headlines a very young and inexperienced 2012-13 Florida team – ranked as the fifth-most inexperienced team in the country – that opened the season with impressive wins against Fairfield (71-49) and Georgia State (84-65).

George is the lone senior on a roster that features eight newcomers, including six freshmen. George led Florida in scoring (12.8 ppg) and rebounding (8.8 rpg) last year and scored 19 points with eight rebounds in the win against GSU.

“With so much returning talent this year, anticipation and excitement for women’s college basketball season among fans, players and coaches is extremely high,” said Eric Oberman, executive director of the Atlanta Tipoff Club. “We look forward to watching these student‐athletes compete and prove to the nation that they deserve to be recognized as the best women’s college basketball player in 2013.”

“AT&T is honored to continue its support of this ongoing tradition and this class of emerging talent,” said Jamie Kerr, Director, AT&T Corporate Sponsorships. “These promising student‐athletes will make for a competitive race and contribute to another exciting season of women’s college basketball.”

In late February, the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s Board of Selectors will compile a mid‐season team of the top 30 players in the nation. In March, the Naismith Trophy voting academy will vote to narrow the list to the four finalists.

Notable Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year winners include Chamique Holdsclaw, Lisa Leslie, Rebecca Lobo, and Tina Charles. The Naismith women’s Trophy is the most prestigious national award presented annually to the women’s college basketball player of the year.

For more information, visit

Complete Watch List:


Armstrong Anne Marie Senior G/F Georgia

Bentley Alex Senior G Penn State

Bone Kelsey Junior C Texas A&M

Butler Heather Junior G University of Tennessee‐Martin

Clarendon Layshia Senior G California

Davis Carolyn Senior F Kansas

Delle Donne Elena Senior F Delaware

Diggins Skylar Senior G Notre Dame

Dolson Stefanie Junior C Connecticut

Ellenberg Aaryn Junior G Oklahoma

Evans Shante Senior F Hofstra

Faris Kelly Senior G Connecticut

Foggie Christina Junior G Vanderbilt

Fussell Chassidy Junior G Texas

George Jennifer Senior F Florida

Goodrich Angel Senior G Kansas

Gray Chelsea Junior G Duke

Griner Brittney Senior C Baylor

Hand Whitney Senior G Oklahoma

Hartley Bria Junior G Connecticut

Hawkins Tianna Senior F Maryland

Hill Tayler Senior G Ohio State

Hooper Jordan Junior F Nebraska

Howard Natasha Junior F Florida State

Jones Kortni Senior G Middle Tennessee State

Lucas Maggie Junior G Penn State

Luper Kevi Senior G Oral Roberts

Marshall Ty Junior G Georgia Tech

Martin Anna Senior G DePaul

Mathies A’dia Senior G Kentucky

McBride Kayla Junior G Notre Dame

McKenith Nadirah Senior G St. John’s

Mincy Lauren Junior G Maryland

Moore Lindsey Senior G Nebraska

Mosqueda‐Lewis Kaleena Sophomore F Connecticut

Ogwumike Chiney Junior F Stanford

Oliver Monique Senior F/C Rutgers

Poppens Chelsea Senior F Iowa State

Rasheed Niveen Senior F Princeton

Reid Monique Senior F Louisville

Rodgers Sugar Senior G Georgetown

Rowe Ebony Junior F Middle Tennessee State

Schimmel Shoni Junior G Louisville

Shafir Naama Senior G Toledo

Sims Odyssey Junior G Baylor

Smith Shenneika Senior G St. John’s

Stewart Breanna Freshman F Connecticut

Thomas Alyssa Junior F Maryland

Walker Markel Senior G/F UCLA

Williams Elizabeth Sophomore C Duke

Courtesy of UF Communications