Cullen nominated for top lacrosse award

Florida’s Kitty Cullen has been named an official nominee for the 2011 Tewaaraton Award. Awarded to the top male and female collegiate lacrosse player, the Tewaaraton award is the nation’s pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse accolade.

Cullen leads the nation in goals scored with 67 and has 72 points so far this season. She has 17 free position goals on the year and owns a .568 shooting percentage. Cullen and the Gators have stunned in only their second year as a program, going undefeated in conference play and winning their first regular season ALC title. Florida went 11-0 at home and the Gators haven’t lost since the first game of the season when Florida fell to then-No. 3 North Carolina in overtime, 9-10.

Cullen is one of only three sophomores nominated on the women’s side. While Florida may not have experience with the Tewaaraton, a member of the Gator coaching staff certainly does. Gators assistant coach Caitlyn McFadden was the recipient of the 2010 Tewaaraton Award after leading the Maryland Terrapins to the 2010 National Championship, ending Northwestern’s reign as the five-time national champion.

McFadden ended Northwestern’s hold on the Tewaaraton as well, winning in 2010 after two Northwestern midfielders combined to win the award from 2006-2009 (Kristen Kjellman, 06-07; Hannah Nielsen, 08-09). The Phoenix, Md. native finished her career with 149 goals and 110 assists for 259 total points. McFadden left the Terrapins as the sixth-leading scorer in program history, having started every game of her collegiate career.

A watch list which began with over 100 names has been whittled down to 25 males and 24 females. This year’s nominees represent 23 different schools and some of the country’s top lacrosse programs. Five male and five female finalists will be selected from the nominees. Finalists will be invited to the award ceremony in June where a male and a female winner will be honored.

“In now its 11th year, the Tewaaraton Award continues to establish itself as the pre-eminent collegiate lacrosse honor,” said Robert Sweeney, President of the Greater Washington Sports Alliance. “This year’s field is one of the best yet, and our selection committees have done a tremendous job sorting through the brightest talent in the college lacrosse world. We are looking forward to another exciting finish to the lacrosse season and seeing what the nation’s best players have to offer.”

The 11th annual Tewaaraton Award will be presented on June 2, 2011 at the historic Warner Theatre in Washington, D.C.

Official Women’s 2011 Tewaaraton Nominees

Casey Ancarrow, James Madison University – Sophomore (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.

Erin Brennan, University of Pennsylvania – Junior (Attack), Garden City, N.Y.

Ally Carey, Vanderbilt University – Junior (Midfield), Bel Air, Md.

Kitty Cullen, University of Florida – Sophomore (Midfield), Rockville, Md.

Brittany Dipper, University of Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Clarksboro, N.J.

Corey Donohoe, University of North Carolina – Senior (Attack), Jarrettsville, Md.

Liz Downs, University of Virginia – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.

Leslie Foard, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Cincinnati, Ohio

Taylor Frink, University of Albany – Senior (Attack), Baldwinsville, N.Y.

Grace Gavin, Loyola University, Maryland – Senior (Attack), Baltimore, Md.

Grace Golden, William and Mary – Senior (Midfield), Manhasset, N.Y.

Emma Hamm, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Wayne, Pa.

Mia Hurrin, University of North Carolina – Senior (Defense), Alexandria, Va.

Karri Ellen Johnson, University of Maryland – Junior (Attack), Annapolis, Md.

Sarah Jonson, William and Mary – Senior (Defense), Dallas, Texas

Christie Kaestner, Duke University – Senior (Attack), Trappe, Md.

Sarah Mollison, University of Maryland – Senior (Attack), Melbourne, Australia

Lauren Schmidt, Stanford University – Senior (Midfield), Bay Shore, N.Y.

Katie Schwarzmann, University of Maryland – Sophomore (Midfield), Sykesville, Md.

Shannon Smith, Northwestern University – Junior (Midfield), West Babylon, N.Y.

Kerry Stoothoff, Loyola University, Maryland – Junior (Goalkeeper), Blue Point, N.Y.

Kat Thomas, Duke University – Junior (Midfield), Latham, N.Y.

Taylor Thornton, Northwestern University – Sophomore (Defense), Dallas, Texas

Laura Zimmerman, University of North Carolina – Junior (Midfield), Syracuse, N.Y.

About The Tewaaraton Award:

The Tewaaraton Award was formally established in August of 2000 with the inaugural presentation talking place at The University Club of Washington DC in June of 2001. Honoring the Native American heritage, the Tewaaraton Trophy symbolizes lacrosse’s centuries-old roots in Native American history. Tradition dictates that each year the Tewaaraton Award celebrates one of the six tribal nations of the Iroquois Confederacy: the Mohawk, Cayuga, Oneida, Onondaga, Seneca, and the Tuscarora. Today, the Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award honoring the nation’s top male and female collegiate lacrosse player for their extraordinary achievements on the field.

About Greater Washington Sports Alliance:

Established in 2003, The Greater Washington Sports Alliance (GWSA) is a regional non-profit sports commission created to foster economic development and civic pride through the power of sports. The Sports Alliance’s mission encompasses the attraction of sporting events to the region, the promotion of the regional professional, collegiate and amateur franchises, the support of youth investment organizations and the branding of Washington, D.C. as a world class sports destination. For more information please visit