RIP Dyron Nix

Discussion in 'Nuttin' but Net' started by GatorLurker, Dec 16, 2013.

1. GatorLurker

GatorLurker Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +362
  2. ThePlayer

ThePlayer VIP Member

Ratings Received:
    +1,564
    Wow....I remember him well (and Don Devoe coaching him).
    Can't believe he died so young.
    Very sad.
  3. GatorPlanet

GatorPlanet Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +570
    He was a great player for UT.
  4. UFreak

UFreak Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +846
    I graduated from Fort Walton Beach High School, the same as Dyron. I was a ninth grader when he was a senior. I used to go to all of those high school games starting his junior year. They had some amazing talent in the area back in the mid 80s. Also on Dyron's Fort Walton team was Marcus Broadnax, a Florida Mr. Basketball and McDonald's AA who ended up going to St. Johns. Sadly N.Y. proved too much for Mr. B. He never really got it going in college. Such a waste.
    Dyron was SEC player of the year one year. I think he shared the honor with Will Purdue.
    I went to one holiday tournament that was held at Choctaw High (Fort Walton's arch rival) when Dyron was a senior and Broadnax a junior. Also in that tournament were the following DI players. Tom Hammonds, Clifford Lett, Cedric Sanders, I think Pat Lawrence and some tiny little freshman point guard from a Mississipi High school named Chris Jackson.

This was the days before AAU tournaments when we now routinely see a lot of DI talent in the same gym at a tournament. It was a treat. Chris Jackson won tournament MVP honors.
  5. gatorgeezer

gatorgeezer VIP Member

Ratings Received:
    +62
    great story
  6. 1982Gator

1982Gator VIP Member

Ratings Received:
    +54