Opinions on "BodyPump"

Discussion in 'Gator Country Health and Fitness' started by G8RBob, Feb 9, 2012.

1. G8RBob

G8RBob VIP Member

Ratings Received:
    +77
    I have been doing Les Mills BodyPump for about three years. I have lost about 35 pounds and four inches off the waist. I have had a significant decrease in BMI and percentage of body fat. For me, at age 68, it has worked well. My question is, am I missing something? Should I also be working with heavier weights on regular basis, in addition to the BodyPump.

In case you are not familiar with BodyPump, it a one hour fitness class with 10 different exercises, biceps, triceps, lunges, etc., each with about 80 repetitions. I typically will use an average of 25 to 30 pounds per rep. I have counted that we do somewhere between 8 and 9 hundred reps per hour.

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks,

Gator Bob
  2. Dreamliner

Dreamliner Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +1,028
    Bob, thanks for dropping in. First, congrats on your tremendous progress to date! Second, how do you do all those repetitions, at your age, and stave off tendonitis ? I'm 55 and half that number of reps would do me in.

But since you asked, yes, I'm certainly biased towards heavier weights. There is no shortage of research which suggests that older folks in particular should be using more challenging levels of resistance.
  3. rburnett

rburnett Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +99
    I read this several times thinking it said Les Miles...

For your question, its obviously working for you and if it meets your goals, then keep at it. At your age I wouldn't think gaining a ton of muscle via strength training would be something you would seriously want to consider... but I'm not you. I would think doing these full body workouts would improve your cardio and overall physical strength better than what most 68 year olds are doing! I hope I'm able to keep up with you.
  4. Dreamliner

Ratings Received:
    +1,028