object error

Discussion in 'Gator Bytes' started by cocodrilo, Dec 28, 2012.

  1. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    When I try to use IE 8, I soon get a dialogue box that says "Message from webpage" and the message is "object error."

    I did an "object error" web search, and apparently a lot of people have had this problem and have asked how to fix it, but as far as I can tell no one seems to have a straight answer.

    The others say they have to click OK in the dialogue box to proceed, but I can't even do that. No matter how many times I click OK, the dialogue box won't go away, rendering the browser inoperable. I have to go to Firefox and forget it.

    There's an outfit that offers a free download called PCFixer or something that is supposed to fix the object error problem. But I don't understand why some outside source has to offer a fix for what is a Microsoft (IE) problem. As far as I can tell, Microsoft offers no help at all on this.

    Does anyone know anything about it?
  2. Juggernautz
    Offline

    Juggernautz Don't Tread on me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37,642
    Likes Received:
    677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yulee FL
    Ratings Received:
    +807
    Flash is probably corrupt, in web terms an object is anything that requires a plugin to run, so flash being the most popular it is liable to be the problem, download and install flash from http://get.adobe.com/flashplayer
  3. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    I may try Flash. The url indicates it's associated with Adobe. I've got a problem with Abode too. Could that be connected to object error?

    I have Adobe Reader 8. I tried today to install Adobe Reader 11, but when it's about 90 percent installed I get a message that says Adobe 8.3 is running a file and I need to close it to complete the install. But I closed everything before trying to install Adobe Reader 11. How am I supposed to close Abode 8.3 when there's nothing open?
  4. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    Does Flash apply to one browser or all of them on a computer? In my case, why would Flash be a problem with IE but not with Firefox, which runs fine?
  5. umcpgator
    Offline

    umcpgator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings Received:
    +37
  6. umcpgator
    Offline

    umcpgator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings Received:
    +37
    There is one set of flash files for IE, and another set for FF. They usually reside in the Macromedia folder somewhere in your windows folder.
  7. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    Thanks, I'll update. I thought IE 8 was the latest. (I'm a computer whiz.) Ordinarily I get notices to update things all the time, but IE has told me nothing.
  8. Juggernautz
    Offline

    Juggernautz Don't Tread on me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37,642
    Likes Received:
    677
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yulee FL
    Ratings Received:
    +807
    Let us know how you fixed the problem.
  9. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    It hasn't been fixed. I have no idea what to do. I'm going to use Firefox, and go ahead and buy a new computer.

    I have found that IE 8 is the latest, by the way, for Windows XP. The newest IE is for modern-age Windows.
  10. cocodrilo
    Online

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    11,524
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings Received:
    +1,402
    I may have found the culprit. I looked at the Add/Remove list in the control panel and found a program on my computer called RebateRobot for Online Shopping. I uninstalled it, and so far "object error" has not reoccurred. I'm keeping my fingers crossed.

Share This Page