Medical Chart Reviewer Position

Discussion in 'The GatorTail Pub' started by gatorfan5220, Jan 30, 2014.

1. gatorfan5220

gatorfan5220 Well-Known Member

Ratings Received:
    +2,628
    My wife is considering training in this field. Is anyone familiar with this field and what it entails? It is either that or Medical Coding/Billing or even a Pharm Tech.

Opinions please?
  2. vertigo0923

vertigo0923 night owl mod VIP Member

Ratings Received:
    +5,227
    i'm a certified physician coder. i just retired though. yes, it pays well. in training, she'd have to learn med terminology, anatomy and physiology. have to learn medicare guidelines.
    you can do facility coding, where you code the stuff the hospital charges (supplies, equipment, room charges etc)
    or physician coding, (also known as pro-fee) you code for what the physician does. most times you have to learn how to read their handwrititing, unless the facility is totally gone to electronic charting. ours was 'mostly' electronic, but physicians wrote chart notes from the hospital floors, which were later scanned in, then i had to read and code them. you have to talk to the docs, to explain what they're doing wrong, or how they can improve their documentation in order to actually charge for the code. if they miss one little thing...it can downcode them, cost them a lot.

i loved my job. i did the radiology, outpatient clinic notes, emergency dept. the one assignment i did the longest was hospital inpatients. it's the hardest and also the most depressing cuz you get the very sickest people.

you have to keep up your ceu's, to keep your certification, it's 36 for a 24 month period. you can get 'em online, or there's usually a chapter for your local AAPC, that will notify you of ceu meetings.
    (ceu - continuing education unit)
    you can be AAPC (american association of professional coders) or AHIMA (american health information managment association) certified, i was both.