Firefox back button

Discussion in 'Gator Bytes' started by cocodrilo, Jan 30, 2013.

  1. cocodrilo
    Offline

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10,716
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings Received:
    +397 / 13 / -19
    Is the round back button at the upper left of the Firefox browser supposed to work all the time? For me it seldom works at all, I usually have to go the History menu if I want to go back to a previous webpage.

    I have Firefox 18.01, but I recall once reinstalling a previous version because of this problem. Reinstalling didn't fix it then, so I doubt there's any fix now.

    No make matters worse, I recall that Firefox used to have a "Close Tab" you could click on to go back to the previous page, like IE has, but some genius at Firefox did away with that.

    Anyone else have this problem of getting to a previous page with Firefox?
  2. Juggernautz
    Offline

    Juggernautz Don't Tread on me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37,520
    Likes Received:
    650
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yulee FL
    Ratings Received:
    +711 / 3 / -3
    Have you tried Google Chrome?
  3. SteelGator
    Offline

    SteelGator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gainesville
    Ratings Received:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    If you have add-ons installed, have you tried disabling the add-ons? One of them might be interfering.

    Also, some web pages (like photo galleries in some newspaper web pages) use this weird advertising network that makes it hard to use the back button. You have to hit the button 5 or 6 times before it actually goes back to a previous page.

    So also try this: Go to google.com. In Firefox's address field manually type in "gatorzone.com". When that page loads, try the back button. Does it work?
  4. cocodrilo
    Offline

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10,716
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings Received:
    +397 / 13 / -19
    No, but I think I'll try it. Thanks.
  5. cocodrilo
    Offline

    cocodrilo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    10,716
    Likes Received:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings Received:
    +397 / 13 / -19
    I don't recall adding anything other than Adblock Plus, and the problem goes back longer than that.

    Yes, it works.
  6. SteelGator
    Offline

    SteelGator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gainesville
    Ratings Received:
    +9 / 0 / -0
    So it appears to be limited to certain websites. The cause is probably what I said in my previous post about sites that use annoying advertising schemes, or are poorly coded, or both.

Share This Page