Comcast Cable vs Century Link

Discussion in 'Gator Bytes' started by alphaomegator, Sep 19, 2013.

  1. alphaomegator
    Offline

    alphaomegator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fort Myers
    Ratings Received:
    +2,209
    Ok I need some down and dirty information about the pros and cons of Century Link TV/Internet. I currently have Comcast cable for my tv's and internet. Always have some sort of problem. Either I am constantly getting booted off the internet(unplug the modem and router and wait for 2 minutes to get back on) or the quality of the TV reception sucks. Today I had a Comcast Technician visit my home to tell me the cable signals throughout my home are extremely weak. He said the Cable leading from the outside junction box into the main junction/splitter in my home needs to be replaced. This is because the original cable is still in my home and is old and outdated. The home was built in 1981. He doesn't know the cost as some other dept. of Comcast handles this. I'm suppose to get some contact about what it would cost to replace the cable w/i 24 hrs.

    So, I'm exploring whether Century Link might be a better option? Does anyone on here have Century Link? What is it like? How does it compare to cable, both for TV and internet?

    Appreciate anyone's input.
  2. gatorchamps0607
    Online

    gatorchamps0607 Always Rasta Premium Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2007
    Messages:
    40,659
    Likes Received:
    922
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Ft. Myers, Florida
    Ratings Received:
    +2,517
    You don't want to get Century Link. They are DSL based and you will not get better connectivity (staying connected) with them. I called Century Link when I moved to get their prices and I was shocked that their 20mb internet was 70$. You can get 50mb from Comcast for like 30-40 bucks.

    As for their TV, Im not sure about Century Link Prism TV but I do know you can bundle Century Link with DirecTv but you will be going back to the same problem with losing your signal.

    I would talk to Comcast about getting your connection fixed. Their customer service sucks, they try to scam you sometimes but all-in-all, their speeds and packages for the price you pay is the best deal out there.
  3. alphaomegator
    Offline

    alphaomegator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fort Myers
    Ratings Received:
    +2,209
    You confirmed my suspicions 're Century Link. You're right about Comcast, but I sure don't want something worse. I plan to TALK with them about replacing the defective cable and what is the cost. Thanks for your input.
  4. panamacitygator
    Offline

    panamacitygator Ticket Swap Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Ratings Received:
    +66
    If your house was built in 1981 it likely has RG-59 coax cable wire which is substandard for today's use. All new homes are wired with RG-6 double or quad shield. Likely if you did change to Centurylink you would still have to replace the old coax.

    The internet speeds with Comcast and the HD choices would make this a nobrainer for me!

    [​IMG]
  5. panamacitygator
    Offline

    panamacitygator Ticket Swap Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Ratings Received:
    +66
    Play your cards right and they may do it for free. Talk to a retention specialist and it might just work.
  6. alphaomegator
    Offline

    alphaomegator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fort Myers
    Ratings Received:
    +2,209
    Yep just got a call from an electrician who sub contracts for Comcast to install cable. I asked him about my cable and he said Comcast is paying to have it replaced. I think Comcast knows they screwed me over for years by not upgrading my analog cable to digital. Plus I have called them so many times and been in chat with their technicians so often, that they must have grown tired of my bitching..:whoa::angry:The electrician is supposed to come in the morning to replace the cable...I hope nothing gets F---ed up...
  7. panamacitygator
    Offline

    panamacitygator Ticket Swap Moderator Premium Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    7,731
    Likes Received:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Panama City, Florida
    Ratings Received:
    +66
    When he comes ask if he's gonna use RG-6 and if its gonna be double or quad shield. You want to have at least double shield.
  8. alphaomegator
    Offline

    alphaomegator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    9,471
    Likes Received:
    1,444
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Fort Myers
    Ratings Received:
    +2,209
    Will do, Panama. Thanks for the advice.

Share This Page