AT&T Galaxy s3 & Jelly Bean

Discussion in 'Gator Bytes' started by g8rfan22, Dec 25, 2012.

  1. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    Anyone know how to upgrade the OS on an AT&T Galaxy s3 to the new Jelly Bean? I've read that it's out there but I can't figure out how to upgrade.

    Thanks,
  2. umcpgator
    Offline

    umcpgator Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    1,125
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Maryland
    Ratings Received:
    +32
  3. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
  4. Tebowism0823
    Offline

    Tebowism0823 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12,326
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Tavares, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +3,801
    Let me know if that works for you. If not, ill get a direct link from my Samsung Rep and pass it to you.
  5. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    I've connected my mac to my galaxy s3 via Kies but it still doesn't give me an option to update. I'm not sure where I'm going wrong. LOL I'm sure it isn't that difficult.
  6. Tebowism0823
    Offline

    Tebowism0823 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12,326
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Tavares, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +3,801
    Let me reach out to him tomorrow and see if this is a known issue that I just haven't heard about. As soon as I hear something ill let you know.
  7. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    Appreciate it
  8. G8RBrave
    Offline

    G8RBrave Super Moderator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    22,830
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +5
    Does Kies even detect the phone? I mean, does it show up there and you can navigate through the library, photos, etc?
  9. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    Yes it does. I just don't see any options to update to Jelly Bean...
  10. orangeblueorangeblue
    Offline

    orangeblueorangeblue Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2007
    Messages:
    56,254
    Likes Received:
    547
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Ratings Received:
    +2,378
    This is why you should not buy any phone but stock Android / Nexus devices.
  11. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    It's probably my mac revolting because I ditched the iPhone.
  12. Juggernautz
    Offline

    Juggernautz Don't Tread on me! VIP Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Messages:
    37,454
    Likes Received:
    647
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Yulee FL
    Ratings Received:
    +714
    Gives new meaning to "smart" device!
  13. G8RBrave
    Offline

    G8RBrave Super Moderator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    22,830
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +5
    Yay for sweeping generalizations!
  14. G8RBrave
    Offline

    G8RBrave Super Moderator VIP Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2007
    Messages:
    22,830
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Gainesville, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +5
    Are you at the most recent version of Kies? Also, in the Kies options somewhere there should be a firmware upgrade button. Try to manually force it that way.
  15. Tebowism0823
    Offline

    Tebowism0823 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12,326
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Tavares, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +3,801
    Give me a second and ill post the link. I had the same trouble the other day with one of my employees but we got through it. It's a issue with Samsung right now that they are aware of. Your Mac shouldn't be causing the issue.
  16. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    Thanks for helping out...I appreciate it.
  17. fbgator27
    Offline

    fbgator27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings Received:
    +3
    Pretty strong point for getting a Nexus. My 2 year old nexus has had 4.2 for a few months. Got a alert on my notification tab and downloaded it instantly.
  18. g8rfan22
    Online

    g8rfan22 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,005
    Likes Received:
    301
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    FLORIDA
    Ratings Received:
    +540
    Isn't it more of a carrier issue than device?
  19. Tebowism0823
    Offline

    Tebowism0823 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    Messages:
    12,326
    Likes Received:
    1,733
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Tavares, FL
    Ratings Received:
    +3,801
  20. fbgator27
    Offline

    fbgator27 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Messages:
    108
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings Received:
    +3
    That's the point. You can buy a stock phone direct from Google, a nexus. It doesn't have a carrier so you get the updates as soon as they come out and they are not loaded with the carriers junk.

Share This Page