10 things UF could do to improve attendance at games

Discussion in 'Swamp Gas' started by bcdowling, Sep 27, 2013.

1. bcdowling

bcdowling New Member

Ratings Received:
    +7
    This is a combination of several threads below, and is an issue which bugs me as well. For reference, I graduated undergrad in '97 and law school in '01. I'm a Bull Gator and attend every home game and FL/GA, absent an irreconcilable conflict or Act of God (away games are tough - I've got 4 little kids :happy:). These are in no particular order, but come from speaking with a lot of other boosters and reading posts on this board and elsewhere.

1. Less gristle, more meat. I don't want to rehash the same old arguments about scheduling cupcakes. We're all aware of the economic issues involved, that we need those home games every year for financial reasons (instead of a home and home with a quality opponent), blah, blah, blah. You know what? Noone cares about the reasoning. If you want people to be excited to come to games, don't schedule Toledo and Georgia Southern. Period. Suck it up, adjust the budget and do a home/home with North Carolina or Texas Tech or whoever. We're a wealthy program with a lot of smart people - you can budget around one less home game every other year.

2. It's Florida, and noone wants to sit outside at 1:00 in September. I understand that UF has less control over this because of the TV contracts but, and this ties into the point above, I bet ESPN would be more interested in putting our game at 3:30 or 7:00 if it didn't, for lack of a better word, suck.