Tebow semifinalist for O’Brien Award

FORT WORTH, Texas – University of Florida sophomore quarterback Tim Tebow (Jacksonville, Fla.) was named one of 15 semifinalists for the Davey O’Brien Award on Monday by the Davey O’Brien Foundation. The O’Brien honors the nation’s best college quarterback of the year and inspires student-athletes to triumph both on and off the field.

A dual threat for opponents, Tebow is 129-for-196 passing for 1,947 yards with 18 touchdowns and three interceptions this season. He also leads Florida in rushing attempts and yards with 138 carries for 563 yards (4.1 avg.) and is tied for first in the Southeastern Conference with 12 rushing TDs. Tebow extended his school-record rushing touchdown streak to nine games with two scores on the ground against Georgia.

He rates sixth nationally in rushing yards per game by a quarterback at

70.38 and leads the SEC in total offense by averaging 313.8 yards per game – a total that rates eighth in the nation. Tebow is the national leader in pass efficiency (176.50) and is fourth in the nation in points responsible per game with 22.50. In addition, he has earned the SEC’s Offensive Player of the Week twice this fall.

When voting, the Selection Committee for The O’Brien is asked to evaluate each candidate on quarterback skills, athletic ability, academics, reputation as a team player, character, leadership and sportsmanship. The combination of votes from the Selection Committee and fan vote will determine the Finalists as well as the Winner this season, with 5% of the total vote coming from dedicated fans.

“The Semifinalist List confirms that being a player of strong character and leadership, combined with talent and academics, can translate into more than just wins on the field,” said Danielle Moorman, executive director of the Davey O’Brien Foundation. “The O’Brien recognizes the diligence and commitment of these young men to their teams, their schools and the true spirit of the game.”

This talented group of 15 quarterbacks will continue to jockey for position until the balloting for the three Finalists closes at 1 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 18. All Finalists will be in attendance in Orlando, Fla., where The O’Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN Dec. 6.

Fans are able to vote for Semifinalist candidates once daily on The O’Brien’s Web site, http://www.DaveyOBrien.com. The voting will continue throughout the Semifinalist and Finalist rounds until The O’Brien winner is announced, with 5% of the final tally coming directly from the Fan Vote. For the complete 2007 O’Brien National Quarterback Award Semifinalist List, please visit http://www.GatorZone.com.