Gator football announces team captains

Senior wide receiver Andre Caldwell (Tampa, Fla.), redshirt junior defensive end Derrick Harvey (Greenbelt, Md.), senior safety Tony Joiner
(Haines City, Fla.), senior center Drew Miller (Sarasota, Fla.) and senior offensive lineman Phil Trautwein (Voorhees, N.J.) were announced as team captains for the 2007 season on Saturday.

Caldwell caught 57 passes for 577 yards and six touchdowns in the Gators’ national title season in 2006. He has seen action in 42 games in three seasons with 24 starts. He will begin his final season with UF ranked 11th all-time for career receptions.

Harvey and Joiner, the only returning starters on the UF defense from

2006, will represent the Gators on the defensive side of the ball. Harvey tied for second in the Southeastern Conference with 11 sacks last season and was named the Defensive Most Valuable Player of the Tostitos BCS National Championship Game. Joiner is the leading tackler returning from 2006 with 31 solo tackles and 28 assists for 59 on the campaign. He also hauled in two interceptions while starting all 14 games.

Miller and Trautwein were both mainstays on the Gator offensive line that allowed 23 sacks in 2006. Both were Second Team All-SEC selections while starting in all 14 games. 

Florida will kick-off the 2007 season against Western Kentucky at 12:30 p.m. EST Sept. 1 at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium. The game will be televised live by Lincoln Financial Sports.