2013 UF Hall of Fame inductees

GAINESVILLE, Fla. – The University of Florida F Club and Gator Boosters, Inc., have announced nine Gators as 2013 UF Athletic Hall of Fame inductees. The 2013 Hall of Fame class will feature seven Gator Greats,
one Distinguished Letterwinner and one Honorary Letterwinner that will join the 375 existing UF Hall of Famers next spring. The 2013 UF Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Banquet will be held on Friday, April 5, 2013, in the Holloway Touchdown Terrace at Ben Hill Griffin Stadium.

This year’s induction class includes Gator Greats Jeff Davis (Wrestling), Josh Fogg (Baseball), Rex Grossman (Football), Riko Higashio (Women’s Golf), Heather Mitts (Soccer), Mike Pearson (Football) and Chrissy Van
Fleet (Gymnastics). Former UF football player and assistant coach Larry Morris will be inducted into the UF Athletic Hall of Fame as a Distinguished Letterwinner and Ernestine Russell Weaver, longtime Gator gymnastics coach, will be UF’s first Honorary Letterwinner since 2011.

Each year, the F Club Committee selects members to the Hall of Fame, divided into three different categories: Gator Greats, Distinguished Letterwinners and Honorary Letterwinners.

Gator Greats are letterwinners who have brought recognition and prominence to the University and themselves by athletic accomplishments as a student-athlete. Distinguished Letterwinners are former student-athletes who have made major contributions to the University’s athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and many years of continued service. They also have distinguished themselves as exceptional in their chosen field of endeavor.

Honorary Letterwinners are coaches and athletic officials – after retirement – who were not letterwinners/athletes at the University of Florida, yet have rendered outstanding service to the intercollegiate athletic program through personal time, effort, interest and through many years of continued service.

Please contact Gator Boosters at (352) 375-4683 x 5000 for information on attending the 2013 Hall of Fame Induction Banquet.


Jeff Davis (Wrestling, 1972-75)

Captain of the 1975 SEC Championship Team…A four-time All-SEC selection…Inducted into the National Wrestling Hall of Fame in 2004.

Josh Fogg (Baseball 1995-98)

A 1998 All-American…Tied for first in Florida baseball history for saves in a season (13)…Helped UF to two SEC Championships in 1996 & 1998 and two College World Series appearances in ‘96 and ‘98.

Rex Grossman (Football 2000-02)

The 2001 SEC Player of the Year…A 2001 All-American, the first sophomore quarterback in school history to earn first-team All-America honors…2001 Heisman Trophy Runner-up…The 2001 AP National Player of the Year.

Riko Higashio (Women’s Golf, 1995-98)

A 1998 All-American…The 1996 SEC Freshman of the Year…Recipient of the 1998 Dinah Shore Trophy…Three-time All-SEC first-team pick 1996-98…Tied for second in UF history for the lowest round (67).

Heather Mitts (Soccer, 1996-99)

A two-time All-American for the Orange and Blue…A 1998 and 1999 All-SEC first-team selection…Named to the 1998 NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team… Member of US Women’s National Team.

Mike Pearson (Football, 1999-01)

A 2001 All-American…The 2000 James W. Kynes Award Recipient…A two-time All-SEC selection as an offensive lineman for the Gators…Second-round NFL Draft pick by the Jacksonville Jaguars.

Chrissy Van Fleet (Gymnastics, 1997-00)

An 11-Time All-American…The 2000 SEC Gymnast of the Year…Southeastern Conference beam champion in 1999…Four-time All-SEC selection.


Larry Morris (Football, 1970-72)

Attorney at Levin Law Firm in Pensacola…UF Assistant Football Coach in 1973…Longtime Bull Gator and season ticket holder…Past member of the F Club Committee.


Ernestine Russell Weaver

University of Florida Gymnastics Coach from 1979-1992…Five-time SEC Championship Team…Eleven-straight NCAA Championship Appearances…Coached a total of 35 All-American Gymnasts.

Courtesy UF Communications